At the end of the day we all want to feel awesome about the work we do, the life we live and believe that what we create with  imagination is magical.


Allow me to introduce myself!

I’m Petra! I’ve been creating practical and unique handmade creations since 1991 when I became a mom. And it’s been taking a hold of me ever since. 

I’m also a writer with a tremendous amount of love and appreciation for coffee. Not sure whether it is because National Coffee Day falls on my birthday or simply because it’s gotten me through some of the most challenging times in my life.

But before all of that I’m a mom of 3 boys navigating the world with a rare genetic disorder and other special needs.

I started to get serious about my handmade art business in 2005, after years and years of giving away my handmade creations as gifts for special occasions. I made personalized doilies as a weeding gift, crochet blankets as birthday gifts and plastic canvas cross stitch samplers for Christmas.

Then out of a need to not only hoard my creations but a need to stay home with my three boys (one of which is a special needs kid), I started selling my work at online and at local events.

While my main focus is Wood-burning (Pyrography), crochet and jewelry, you will find the occasional knit item or painting as I am always exploring and trying new things.

I sold at craftshows and farmer’s markets, on etsy and other online markets before moving to my own website. I started a brick + mortar art store to sell the handmade creations of local artists in a small community but closed it because it didn’t give me the freedom I wanted. What it did give me is recognizing my passion about creating a handmade life and helping other’s do the same.

You can find me in these places too! 

The Rebels Den

Follow your dreams and focus on your goals!

Petra Monaco

Confessions of a Special-Needs Parent

Art of Pyrography

Practial Pyrography & Wood-Burning Teachings  

I’m an artist, author and creative consultant. I have a Bachelor’s of Science in Accounting and a Master’s of Science in Mental Health Counseling – having tried to live a normal live a time or two. But I also have years of experience of creating a handmade lfie, falling my own inner calling and passions.

 When I’m not working, you may find me doing couch gymnastics reading a book, playing soccer or go to concerts to rock out to my hearts content.

Pin It on Pinterest